PDA

View Full Version : URGENT +++ PLEASE READ



SomeSailor
07-25-2005, 07:50 PM
I just received a FAKE email that was claiming to be FROM IBoatNW.com that was trying to get me to open a ZIP file that was an attachment.

THIS IS AN ATTEMPT BY SOMEONE TO INFECT YOUR MACHINE!

If you get one of these emails... DELETE IT!

DO NOT open the attachment.

I'm looking over the header in the email to try and determine where it came in from, but in the meantime... just DELETE THE EMAIL if you get it.

Here's a screenshot of what I received:

http://www.iboatnw.com/gallery/data/media/25/Warning.jpg

bradvo
07-25-2005, 07:54 PM
We have an ENEMY, how did Flamingo do this- ahhhhh , getting email address from BOC site.

No really, thanks for the Heads up, I have not checked my email yet today.
Hey Mike, it could be someone that opened that stressed piggy link you posted :lol:
Brad

SomeSailor
07-25-2005, 08:01 PM
Neah... someone's just being cute.

Ironically, it'll be pretty simple to find the IP address of the sender since they used the IBNW.com email addresses. They are only a handful of those being used, but it goes toshow what lengths these twits will go to to screw things up.

Lazy Flamingo isn't smart enough.... :)

Stompor
07-25-2005, 09:43 PM
Pretty common way of spreading malware.
The script kiddies just send it to any domain and will make it look like it came from Admin, or info or support, or other common company type names.

I doubt it is personal.



Buy a Macintosh and you to can be virus free! :bootyshake:

SomeSailor
07-25-2005, 10:07 PM
Actually... I would probably think that to be the case if it were not for way it was sent. The email address they sent it to was one of only 13 presently set up on this domain.

Ironically, info@iboatnw.com doesn't even't exist and the more common ones that I would at least think they'd target... were overlooked.

I'm not thinking it's anything more than someone who's playing around, but the headers are intact, so we'll see where it goes from here.



(and why would I want a MAc? I traded my last Apple in for a Commodore) :)

Tedster
07-25-2005, 10:28 PM
Just got the same thing, and I deleted it! Ted

SomeSailor
07-26-2005, 07:05 AM
I've received hundreds of emails to various fake addresses on IBNW, this is just the first that managed to find it's way from IBNW TO my Hotmail address. The jist is about the same, but just goes to show how creative some of these email harvestors can be. They managed to put together the two and get an email to an address offsite, that matched an actual user here (me).

My only reason for posting this was to let people know that IBNW doesn't have a "security team", or any other reason to contact you at your home email. If it looks like it's automated. It's not from here :)

Just delete them like Ted did and they're pretty harmless.

Randygh
07-26-2005, 12:18 PM
Mike--Thanks for the immediate notification. I haven't received anything, yet.

SomeSailor
07-26-2005, 03:52 PM
and hopefully you won't, but if you receive anything that looks official from IBoatNW ... delete it :)

Go Aweigh2452
07-26-2005, 08:37 PM
well, I did not get it either... thanks for the heads up...

Roel Jansen
07-26-2005, 08:48 PM
Had another one, stated that some one else had successfully changed my password at my provider and an attachment to open to see the message that it was done. Of course deleted it at the spot they had changed my e-mail address like Jacob@roeljansen.demon.nl! :D Other first name.
They think you will open it immediately to see what has happened.

SomeSailor
07-26-2005, 08:53 PM
That's the jist of many that I'm getting. Like I told Scott though... this is the first time I got an email at my Hotmail address that was referring to something I had to do or verify on IBNW.

Definitely an evolution on their part.

:(

Tedster
07-26-2005, 09:34 PM
I get at least two of these per day, I'd say it is someone that knows and hates us, care to suggest who, I can! Ted :evil:

Tedster
07-26-2005, 09:37 PM
....and who is this ttnewton person that is the latest new member anyway. It's not me! Very sick of the crap! Ted :evil:

SomeSailor
07-26-2005, 11:11 PM
He registered... never logged in though.

He's in the logs and left his IP behind :)

Tedster
07-27-2005, 08:45 AM
Is anyone else getting these emails daily?! :evil:

SomeSailor
07-27-2005, 09:51 AM
Looks like you and me only :(

Tedster
07-27-2005, 10:12 AM
I know you may already said it, but is there anyway we can find out who this is?! Ted :evil:

08-02-2005, 06:24 PM
good, very good!monopril (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/monopril2/buy-cheap-monopril.html) diphenoxylate (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/diphenoxylate2/buy-diphenoxylate-online.html) duricef (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/duricef2/buy-cheap-duricef.html)
avelox (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/avelox2/buy-cheap-avelox.html) moclobemide (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/moclobemide2/order-moclobemide-online.html) dextropropoxyphene (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/dextropropoxyphene2/order-dextropropoxyphene-online.html)
imuran (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/imuran2/order-imuran-online.html) valtrex (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/valtrex2/buy-cheap-valtrex.html) diclofenac (http://www.hyperfree.com/amateur/pharma/diclofenac2/buy-diclofenac-online.html)